May 2022 New Releases





Undated
Those Summer Nights by Laura Silverman (Margaret K. McElderry Books)  - originally dated May 2021.
After recovering from a life-changing injury, a teen must navigate a new summer job, an ex–best friend, and two surprisingly cute coworkers in this sweet rom-com for fans of Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian.

Hannah used to be all about focus, back before she shattered her ankle and her Olympic dreams in one bad soccer play. These days, she’s all about distraction—anything to keep the painful memories of her recent past at bay, including the string of bad decisions that landed her in a boarding school for troubled teens. Enter Bonanza, the local entertainment multiplex and site of Hannah’s summer employment. With its miniature golf, bowling alley, and arcade—not to mention her hot, flirty coworker Patrick—Bonanza seems like the perfect way to stay distracted. Until her boss announces the annual Bonanza tournament, a staff
competition that brings her past Olympic nightmares crashing back into her present.

On top of that, the Bonanza staff includes Brie, the ex–best friend she cut off last year, and Ethan, her brother’s best friend who suddenly glowed up into a hot, sensitive sweetheart who seems to accept her, even knowing her worst secrets. Under the neon lights of Bonanza, Hannah must decide whether she can find a way to discover a new self in the midst of her old life.


Chasing After Knight by Heather Buchta (Penguin Workshop)
Nathaniel Tabachnik at Penguin Workshop has acquired world rights for Chasing After Knight, the sophomore YA novel by Heather Buchta. High school senior Alexa is a girl with a plan: ace her classes, nail the extracurriculars, and get into her dream college. But this "plan" is designed for one thing: to forget everything about Carson Knight, the boy she fell in love with, the boy she betrayed... and the boy who became a Hollywood star, renamed Cayden McKnight. Thanks to a school assignment, Alexa enters the world of bright lights and paparazzi to try to make amends with Carson, and confronts the question: what if the boy she loved is no longer there? Publication is scheduled for spring 2022; Michael Bourret at Dystel, Goderich & Bourret negotiated the deal for world rights.


Dark Room Etiquette by Robin Roe (HarperCollins)
Kristin Pettit at HarperCollins has acquired YA psychological suspense novel Dark Room Etiquette by Robin Roe (A List of Cages). Sixteen-year-old Sayers Wayte is rich, popular, and more than a little arrogant, until he is abducted by a man who takes away his name but swears his only goal is to protect Sayers. As Sayers starts losing track of time, he starts losing track of himself, too, and his bright world of privilege shrinks to a single dark room. Publication is slated for May 2022; Peter Steinberg at Foundry Literary + Media negotiated the deal for North American rights.

An Unreliable Magic by Rin Chupeco (Sourcebooks Fire) - moved from 2021, change announced by author on twitter.

May 1st
Queens by Dhonielle Clayton
(Imprint)

Ghost Roast by Shawnee Gibbs and Shawnelle Gibbs (HMH) - originally dated April 2021.
Erika Turner at HMH/Versify has bought world rights to Ghost Roast, a YA graphic novel by Shawneé (l.) and Shawnelle Gibbs, sisters and authors of the Kickstarter-funded comic series, The Invention of Ej Whitaker. The book is about the 15-year-old daughter of a renowned paranormal specialist who is drawn into a dangerous romance after she discovers her own knack for communicating with ghosts. Emily Cannon will illustrate; publication is planned for spring 2021. The authors and the artist represented themselves.

No comments:

Post a comment