May 2021 New Releases




May 1st
The Princess in the Piazza by Ben Hatke (Roaring Brook Press)
Roaring Brook has bought The Princess in the Piazza, a YA novel from Ben Hatke. The book follows Sebastian, an American teenager spending the summer in Italy, who falls in love with a Renaissance princess who has been dead for 500 years, and finds himself swept up in her ages-old conflict with a sinister wizard.

Untitled by Ryan La Scala (Sourcebooks Fire) - release date announced by author on twitter.

House of Dragons #2 by Jessica Cluess (Random House)   - release date announced by author on twitter.

May 4th
When You Get the Chance and Robin Stevenson (Running Press Kids)
40216677. sy475 Following cousins on a road trip to Pride as they dive into family secrets and friendships, When You Get the Chance is a contemporary YA novel, perfect for fans of David Levithan and Becky Albertalli, and for readers looking for a story of friendship and family.

As kids, Mark and his cousin Talia spent many happy summers together at the family cottage in Ontario, but a fight between their parents put an end to the annual event. Living on opposite coasts--Mark in Halifax and Talia in Victoria--they haven't seen each other in years. When their grandfather dies unexpectedly, Mark and Talia find themselves reunited at the cottage once again, cleaning it out while the family decides what to do with it.

Mark and Talia are both queer, but they soon realize that's about all they have in common, other than the fact that they'd both prefer to be in Toronto. Talia is desperate to see her high school sweetheart Erin, who's barely been in touch since leaving to spend the summer working at a coffee shop in the gay village. Mark, on the other hand, is just looking for some fun, and Toronto Pride seems like the perfect place to find it.

When a series of complications throws everything up in the air, Mark and Talia--with Mark's little sister Paige in tow--decide to hit the road for Toronto. With a bit of luck, and some help from a series of unexpected new friends, they might just make it to the big city and find what they're looking for. That is, if they can figure out how to start seeing things through each other's eyes. 


Where the Rhythm Takes You by Sarah Dass (Balzer + Bray)
53240366. sx318 Donna Bray at HarperCollins/Balzer + Bray has acquired, at auction, Where the Rhythm Takes You by debut author and #PitchWars alum Sarah Dass, a YA novel based on Jane Austen's Persuasion, set in the author's native Trinidad and Tobago. Reyna's life changed forever two years ago, when her mother died and her best friend (first kiss, first love) Aiden, suddenly moved to America. Now Aiden has returned to their island as an international pop star, but the last thing Reyna wants to do is risk her heart again. Publication is set for summer 2021, with a second untitled YA novel to follow. Wendi Gu at Sanford J. Greenburger Associates did the deal for world English rights.







The Secret Blade by Tricia Levenseller (Feiwel and Friends)
In the first book in Tricia Levenseller's exciting new YA fantasy duology, a teenage blacksmith with social anxiety accepts a commision from the wrong person and is forced to go on the run to protect the world from the most powerful magical sword she's ever made.

Eighteen-year-old Ziva is the sole provider for herself and her sixteen-year-old sister. She uses her magical gift to create weapons imbued with power. Each weapon is different, and she never knows exactly how one will turn out.

One day, she gets a commission from a powerful warlord and crafts a sword that feeds on secrets and steals them from those it cuts. Quickly realizing that this is a weapon that could topple kingdoms, Ziva grabs her sister and goes on the run. But word of the sword travels like lightning, and soon everyone wants to get their hands on it.

Four companions—a blacksmith, a mercenary, a scholar, and a flirt—set out on a quest to keep the sword safe until they can find a worthy weilder or a way to destroy it entirely.

 
Counting Down With You by Tashie Bhuiyan (Inkyard Press)
Natashya Wilson at Inkyard has acquired North American and audio rights to Counting Down with You and a second book by debut author Tashie Bhuiyan. In this romantic contemporary YA novel, a Bangladeshi-Muslim teenager navigates the difficulties of independence, family, and first love after being roped into a fake dating facade by a classmate. Publication is scheduled for mid-2021; JL Stermer at New Leaf Literary & Media brokered the deal.

Meet-Cute Diary by Emery Lee (Quill Tree Books)
Alexandra Cooper at HarperCollins/Quill Tree has bought Emery Lee's Meet-Cute Diary, about a trans teen who must decide if he's dedicated to romantic formulas or open to unpredictable love after an internet troll-attack on his trans romance blog compels him and a fan to start fake-dating to salvage the blog's reputation. Publication is planned for summer 2021; Beth Phelan at Gallt & Zacker Literary Agency did the deal for world English rights.

Sky Breaker by Addie Thorley (Page Street Kids) - title and release date confirmed by author on twitter.

May 5th
Queens by Dhonielle Clayton (Imprint)

May 21st
Dreamer Trilogy #2 by Maggie Stiefvater (Scholastic) - some editions also scheduled for November 2020, but author confirms this date.
From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Raven Boys, a mesmerizing story of dreams and desires, death and destiny.

The stakes have never been higher as it seems like either the end of the world or the end of dreamers approaches.
 

No comments:

Post a Comment