February 2024 New Releases

 




Release date not known
The Poisons We Drink by Bethany Baptiste (Sourcebooks Fire) - moved from 2022, then from January 2023, then from June 2023.
Annie Berger at Sourcebooks Fire has acquired debut YA contemporary fantasy The Poisons We Drink by Bethany Baptiste. In a country divided between witchers and humans, an 18-year-old Black brewer of love potions must protect her sister after she is coerced into making powerful potions to persuade and enslave Washington's most influential politicians, before they find themselves in the middle of a war that could cost them everything. Publication is scheduled for winter 2022; John Cusick at Folio Jr./Folio Literary Management brokered the deal for world English rights.

February 1st
The Princess in the Piazza by Ben Hatke (Roaring Brook Press) - moved from September 2022, date not yet updated on Goodreads.
Roaring Brook has bought The Princess in the Piazza, a YA novel from Ben Hatke. The book follows Sebastian, an American teenager spending the summer in Italy, who falls in love with a Renaissance princess who has been dead for 500 years, and finds himself swept up in her ages-old conflict with a sinister wizard.

February 6th
Skater Boy by Anthony Nerada (Soho Teen)
This YA contemporary romance puts a gay spin on Avril Lavigne’s Sk8er Boi—perfect for fans of Sonora Reyes, Adib Khorram, and Phil Stamper.

Stonebridge High’s resident bad boy, seventeen-year-old Wesley “Big Mac” Mackenzie, is failing senior year—probably because of his unchecked anger problem, rowdy friends, and a recurring tendency to ditch his homework to fill his camera roll with random photos. So when his mom drags him to a winter production of The Nutcracker, Wes isn't interested at all...until he sees Tristan Monroe. Mr. Nutcracker himself.

Wes knows he shouldn’t like Tristan; after all, he’s a ballet dancer, and Wes is as closeted as they come. But when they start spending time together, Wes can’t seem to get Tristan out of his head.

Driven by a new sense of purpose, Wes enters a photography contest at school, determined to better himself before the end of the school year. When a falling out with his friends becomes inevitable, Wes realizes he has to take a stand—in more ways than one—and learn that being himself means meeting somewhere in the middle of who he is and who he wants to be.

Can Wes trade his skateboard in for textbooks, ditch his friends for the photography kids he once bullied, and blow up the bad-boy reputation he never wanted in the first place?

The Cursed Rose by Leslie Vedder (Razorbill) - not yet added to Goodreads.
"Leslie Vedder's THE CURSED ROSE, the third and final book in her debut LGBTQ+ fantasy trilogy that began with THE BONE SPINDLE, pitched as a gender-flipped retelling of Sleeping Beauty meets Indiana Jones, in which a cursed treasure hunter and an axe-wielding huntswoman must team up in the treasure hunt of a lifetime to save a lost prince—and now the kingdom, to Ruta Rimas at Razorbill, for publication in early 2024, by Carrie Hannigan Band Ellen Goff at HG Literary (NA)".

February 13th
My Big, Fat, Desi Wedding by Various YA Authors (Page Street) - moved from November 2023.
Drama. Food. Fashion. More drama. More food. Nosey aunties and uncles—and, of course, the universal language of love. These elements are a must-have for any Desi wedding, inclusive of people indigenous to India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Nepal, and Sri Lanka. In this anthology, authors from various parts of the Desi community will share genre-bending stories that explore the lush traditions of their region, translating that universal language through the familiar lens of the Ultimate Family Gathering.

In this collection that centers hope, love, and family, readers will enjoy eight stories from both award-winning and debut authors.


With a Little Luck by Marissa Meyer (Feiwel and Friends)

No comments:

Post a Comment