April 2022 New Releases

Undated
The Drowning Summer by Christine Lynn Herman
(Little, Brown) - although the cover lists a 2021 release date, the author and publisher confirms a 2022 release.


Deirdre Jones at Little, Brown will edit The Drowning Summer by Christine Lynn Herman, author of The Devouring Gray duology. This YA contemporary fantasy follows two Long Island teenagers and fledgling mediums as they investigate a murder that rocked their small town six years earlier when three teenagers were found drowned with sand dollars laid over their eyes. Publication is set for Spring 2022; Kelly Sonnack at the Andrea Brown Literary Agency negotiated the deal for North American English rights.



Hotel Magnifique by Emily J. Taylor (Razorbill)
Casey McIntyre at Razorbill has bought, at auction, Hotel Magnifique by debut author Emily J. Taylor. Pitched for fans of Caraval and The Night Circus, the YA fantasy is set against the backdrop of a Belle Époque-inspired hotel, and follows 17-year-old Jani as she uncovers the deeply disturbing secrets of the legendary Hotel Magnifique. Publication is planned for April 2022; Alexandra Machinist and Hillary Jacobson at ICM Partners sold world English rights in a two-book deal.

April
1st
Sound Check by Jennifer Fenn (Roaring Brook Press)

Win is a remarkably gifted percussionist. He's also profoundly deaf and plays the drums with his shoes off so he can feel the music through the soles of his feet. He has it all: he's in a band on the verge of breaking out, and he's madly in love with Tristen, their lead singer. The only thing he could ever want: to hear Tristen sing.

Sound Check is told in alternating narratives. The A side - Win decides to get a cochlear implant that will allow him to hear. The B side - Win and Tristen's love story from the day they first met to the day Win heard Tristen for the first time. And in the silence between the tracks? Heartbreak.





April 5th
K-Pop Revolution by Stephan Lee (Point)

She thought that debuting in a K-Pop band was the finish line, but it was only the beginning. Because now it’s not only Candace's company judging her—it’s the entire world. How will she find the courage to stand by her beliefs, even when powerful forces are trying to shame and silence her...

Now that Candace is a star, her life is suddenly filled with glamour. She's known everywhere; she has adoring fans who worship her and her boyfriend, YoungBae; and she has unlimited access to her label-mates SLK, who happen to be the top boy band in the world.

Even more important, her company, S.A.Y., tells her they've heard her message of change loud and clear. They promise to make sweeping changes to become a more humane and compassionate place for artists.

But the road to a record-breaking debut isn't going to be smooth. The schedule is even more grueling; the pressure is immense, and there's unexpected competition from a rival girl group that's become the latest viral sensation -- not to mention constant bullying and false rumors online.

When increasingly-virulent online scandals threaten the future of YAS-Q -- and it becomes painfully clear that S.A.Y. is as manipulative as ever -- Candace realizes it's not enough to use her voice alone. It's time to join forces and take action.

It's time for a K-Pop revolution.

Scout's Honor by Lily Anderson (Henry Holt)

Prudence Perry is a third-generation Ladybird Scout who must battle literal (and figurative) monsters and the weight of her legacy in this YA paranormal perfect for fans of Stranger Things and Buffy the Vampire Slayer.

Sixteen-year-old Prudence Perry is a legacy Ladybird Scout, born to a family of hunters sworn to protect humans from mulligrubs―interdimensional parasites who feast on human emotions like sadness and anger. Masquerading as a prim and proper ladies' social organization, the Ladybirds brew poisons masked as teas and use knitting needles as daggers, at least until they graduate to axes and swords.

Three years ago, Prue’s best friend was killed during a hunt, so she kissed the Scouts goodbye, preferring the company of her punkish friends lovingly dubbed the Criminal Element much to her mother and Tía Lo’s disappointment. However, unable to move on from her guilt and trauma, Prue devises a risky plan to infiltrate the Ladybirds in order to swipe the Tea of Forgetting, a restricted tincture laced with a powerful amnesia spell.

But old monster-slaying habits die hard and Prue finds herself falling back into the fold, growing close with the junior scouts that she trains to fight the creatures she can’t face. When her town is hit with a mysterious wave of demons, Prue knows it’s time to confront the most powerful monster of all: her past.


All the Best Liars by Amelia Kahaney (Flatiron) - originally titled Friends Like These and dated 2020.
For Flatiron Books, Sarah Barley took North American rights at auction to Amelia Kahaney’s  psychological thriller All the Best Liars. The YA novel, set in the California desert, follows three best friends who, the publisher explained, “grew up on the wrong side of the tracks.” With each girl “desperately wishing for some way out,” they all escape, “but not in the way they had expected.” The book, which is set for a spring 2020 release, was sold by Joelle Hobeika and Sara Shandler at Alloy Entertainment on behalf of Kahaney’s literary agent, Faye Bender at the Book Group.

Sense & Second-Degree Murder by Tirzah Price (HarperCollins)

This Cursed Crown by Alexandra Overy (Inkyard Press)

April 12th
This May End Badly by Samantha Markum (Wednesday Books) - originally titled Weston Girls Take No Prisoners.
Pranking mastermind Doe and her motley band of Weston girls are determined to win the century-long war against Winfield Academy before the clock ticks down on their senior year. But when their headmistress announces that Weston will merge with its rival the following year, their longtime feud spirals into chaos.

To protect the school that has been her safe haven since her parents’ divorce, Doe puts together a plan to prove once and for all that Winfield boys and Weston girls just don’t mix, starting with a direct hit at Three, Winfield’s boy king and her nemesis. In a desperate move to win, Doe strikes a bargain with Three’s cousin, Wells: If he fake dates her to get under Three’s skin, she’ll help him get back his rightful family heirloom from Three.

As the pranks escalate, so do her feelings for her fake boyfriend, and Doe spins lie after lie to keep up her end of the deal. But when a teacher long suspected of inappropriate behavior messes with a younger Weston girl, Doe has to decide what’s more important: winning a rivalry, or joining forces to protect something far more critical than a prank war legacy.

This May End Badly is a story about friendship, falling in love, and crossing pretty much every line presented to you—and how to atone when you do.


April 26th
Veil by Dylan Farrow (Wednesday Books)
The thrilling sequel to Hush, one of the most talked about YA fantasies of 2020.

Shae’s entire world has been turned upside down, and everything she’s ever believed is a lie. More determined than ever, she sets out to the mysterious land of Gondal—a place forbidden to mention and resigned to myth—in search of a dangerous magical book that could alter the fabric of the world.

Following the trail of Ravod, the boy she thought she knew and trusted, Shae discovers there is far more to the young man who stole the Book of Days than she ever realized. Together, with her friends, Mads and Fiona, and a newfound ally in her fierce former trainer, Kennan, Shae crosses the borders of the only home she’s ever had and into a world ruled not by magic, but technology and industry — one fraught with perils of its own.

In a world shrouded in lies, Shae is desperate for answers and to restore peace, but who will lift the veil?


Reader, I Murdered Him by Betsy Cornwell (Clarion) - moved from September 2021, some editions dated April 19th.
Lynne Polvino at Clarion has bought Reader, I Murdered Him by Betsy Cornwell (The Circus Rose). This YA tale of female agency, queer romance, and revenge features a girl who becomes a teenage vigilante, roaming Victorian England and using her privilege and power to protect other young women from abusive Gothic heroes. Publication is planned for fall 2021; Sara Crowe at Pippin Properties negotiated the deal for North American rights.

No comments:

Post a comment