May 2023 New Releases

 




Undated

City of Vicious Night by Claire Winn (Flux)

Meg Gaertner at Flux has acquired Claire Winn's City of Vicious Night, a queer, female-led cyberpunk adventure, in which heiress-turned-smuggler Asa and gunslinger Riven are forced to vie for leadership of an underworld faction after a hacker turns the city against them; meanwhile, a captured crew member must ally with an old enemy to find his way home. Publication is slated for spring 2023; Cortney Radocaj at Belcastro Agency brokered the deal for world rights.












Liar's Beach by Katie Cotugno (Delacorte) - moved from 2022.
Wendy Loggia at Delacorte has bought world English rights to Liar's Beach and a second, untitled novel by bestselling YA author Katie Cotugno, pitched as We Were Liars meets Knives Out and set on Martha's Vineyard. In this new take on Agatha Christie's The Mysterious Affair at Styles, detective Hercule Poirot is recast as a brilliant, brash teen girl named Holiday, with the story narrated by her childhood friend Linden, an athlete-scholar who fits right in at his elite New England prep school—all the while hiding secrets of his own. Publication is set for fall 2022; Sara Shandler and Viana Siniscalchi at Alloy Entertainment represented the author.

A Child's Introduction to Pride by Sarah Prager and Caitlin O'Dwyer (Black Dog & Leventhal) - YA non fiction.
Lisa Tenaglia at Black Dog & Leventhal has acquired world rights to A Child's Introduction to Pride by Sarah Prager, illustrated by Caitlin O'Dwyer. The YA book is an introduction to the LGBTQ+ civil rights movement throughout history with kid-friendly explanations of terms like identity, gender, and more. Publication is planned for May 2023; Carrie Howland at Howland Literary represented the author, and Aurora Barlam at Astound US represented the illustrator.

That Self-Same Metal by Brittany N. Williams (Abrams)
Maggie Lehrman at Abrams has bought, in a mid-six-figure preempt. the Forge & Fracture saga, a YA historical fantasy trilogy for fans of Holly Black and Justina Ireland, written by debut author Brittany N. Williams. The first book, That Self-Same Metal, follows Joan Sands, a Black girl who uses her secret ability to control metal to create swords for Shakespeare's company, The Kings' Men. But when malicious Fae invade mortal London, Joan finds herself at the center of a war that only her family's legacy can prevent, even as she falls for a boy in the company and a girl wrapped up in the fight. Publication of book one is planned for spring 2023; Alexandra Levick at Writers House handled the deal for world English rights.

Ava's Demon Book One: Reborn by Michelle Fus (Skybound Comet)
Alex Antone at Skybound Comet has bought, in a multi-book deal, world rights to Michelle Fus's sci-fi/fantasy YA graphic novel series Ava's Demon, about a shy teenage girl named Ava who forms a dangerous pact with an ancient alien queen named Wrathia. Ava's Demon is one of the highest-performing webcomics graphic novel series on Kickstarter, having raised more than a million dollars to date. Publication of Ava's Demon Book One: Reborn is planned for May 2023; the author was unagented.

May 5th

Feathervein by Tonya Hurley (Feiwel and Friends) - published in Spanish but not yet in English, release date moved several times.
Wren, a lonely girl with a gift for communicating with birds. She leaves behind a fractured family to investigate her mother's mysterious disappearance on a birding expedition in the Louisiana bayous, and enters a world steeped in folk magic.

May 16th
Painted Devils by Margaret Owen (Henry Holt) - moved from October 2022, then from January 2023, then from February 2023. Some editions dated May 1st, but author confirms this date.
Let’s get one thing straight—Vanja Schmidt wasn’t trying to start a cult.

After taking down a corrupt margrave, breaking a deadly curse, and finding romance with the vexingly scrupulous Junior Prefect Emeric Conrad, Vanja had one great mystery left: her long-lost birth family… and if they would welcome a thief. But in her search for an honest trade, she hit trouble and invented a god, the Scarlet Maiden, to scam her way out. Now, that lie is growing out of control—especially when Emeric arrives to investigate, and the Scarlet Maiden manifests to claim him as a virgin sacrifice.

For his final test to become a prefect, Emeric must determine if Vanja is guilty of serious fraud, or if the Scarlet Maiden—and her claim to him—are genuine. Meanwhile, Vanja is chasing an alternative sacrifice that may be their way out. The hunt leads her not only into the lairs of monsters and the paths of gods, but the ties of her past. And with what should be the simplest way to save Emeric hanging over their heads, he and Vanja must face a more dangerous question: Is there a future for a thief and a prefect, and at what price?

No comments:

Post a Comment