March 2021 New Releases

Undated
The Wide Starlight by Nicole Lesperance (Razorbill)
When Eli was six years old, she lived with her family on the Arctic archipelago of Svalbard. One winter night, her mother took her out onto a frozen fjord, called down the Northern Lights, and disappeared into the sky. Everybody says it couldn’t possibly have happened that way, but Eli knows it did. She remembers the stories that used to creep out of her mother’s books, the magic the two of them shared and hid from the world. The way it slowly consumed her mother and ripped her away.

Now Eli’s sixteen and living on Cape Cod with her dad. One morning she finds a note tucked under a bush in her yard. Your mother is close, it says in Norwegian. Call her. Eli doesn’t understand what it means until that night, when the Northern Lights appear in the sky. She calls out to the lights, and a few hours later, her mother appears. Eli’s so thrilled to see her that she can almost ignore the fact that her mother smells like burnt matches and has ice for fingernails.

But she can’t ignore the magic that’s seeping back into her life: the narwhals mysteriously appearing in Cape Cod Bay, the electronics shorting out in her house, the tiny meteorites landing in her yard. The three silent girls in long cloaks who follow her everywhere. When the narwhals strand themselves on a beach and one dies, Eli tells her mother she has to make it stop. As abruptly as she appeared, her mother disappears. Eli’s devastated. Until she finds a note tucked in her coat pocket:

Find me where I left you.

 
March 1st
Chain of Iron by Cassandra Clare (Margaret K. McElderry Books) 

March 2nd
If You Should Ever Leave Me by Pheobe North (Balzer + Bray)
When a teen boy vanishes, his sister suspects he's fled into the make-believe fantasy world they invented as children. But when he reappears, she's forced to confront the dark worlds she's created, both real and fantastical, to save what's left of her family.

March 4th
All Our Hidden Gifts by Caroline O' Donoghue (Walker Books US)
16-year-old Maeve Chambers is a loner, and has been since she ditched her best friend Lily three years ago. The sole idiot in a family of geniuses, she has always struggled to fit in. But when she finds a pack of dusty old tarot cards in a cupboard at her school, and begins to give scarily accurate readings to the girls in her class, she realises she’s found her gift at last. Things are looking up. Until she discovers a strange card in her deck – one that shouldn’t be there. Then a reading for her ex-best-friend Lily goes very wrong. And two days later, Lily disappears.

Consumed by guilt, Maeve teams up with the only two people who believe Maeve’s version of events: new friend Fiona, a talented acting prodigy; and Lily’s alluring older brother, the gender-fluid, lipstick and leather jacket wearing Roe. All three have unnatural talents that are only now waking up. Will their strange gifts be enough to find Lily and bring her back, before she’s gone for good?

ALL OUR HIDDEN GIFTS is the darkly magical first book in a new YA series for fans of Stranger Things and The Chilling Adventures of Sabrina.


March 9th
It's a Kind of Cheesy Love Story by Lauren Morrill (FSG) 

47950693. sy475 Beck is sick of being known as the Hot ‘N Crusty Bathroom Baby. After her mother gave birth to her in the bathroom of a local pizzeria, she’s been given the dubious honor of having minor fame, free pizza for life, and a guaranteed job when she turns sixteen—a job she unfortunately can’t afford to turn down.

Now she’s stuck with her weird co-workers instead of hanging out with her best friends (and her epic crush).

But maybe the pizza people aren’t all bad. Maybe that pizza delivery guy is kind of cute. And maybe there’s a way to make this Bathroom Baby thing work for her. Because when disaster strikes the beloved pizza place that’s started to feel like home, she’s going to need a miracle – one that might even mean bringing her two worlds together.





March 16th
Holt has bought Jen Larsen's novel The Big Reveal. Pitched as a body-positive Fame for YA readers, the novel follows a talented, proudly plus-sized dancer on scholarship at an elite boarding school, who starts an underground burlesque club to finance her dreams.

March 23rd 
44281163. sy475 When children go missing, people want answers. When children go missing in the small coastal town of Astoria, people look to Wendy for answers.

It's been five years since Wendy and her two brothers went missing the woods, but when the town’s children start to disappear, the questions surrounding her brothers’ mysterious circumstances are brought back into light. Attempting to flee her past, Wendy almost runs over an unconscious boy lying in the middle of the road, and gets pulled into the mystery haunting the town.

Peter, a boy she thought lived only in her stories, claims that if they don't do something, the missing children will meet the same fate as her brothers. In order to find them and rescue the missing kids, Wendy must confront what's waiting for her in the woods.




The Secret Recipe For Moving On by Karen Bishcher (Swoon Reads)
Home economics is supposed to be an easy A for Ellie Agresti, but, much like an imperfect souffle, her plans collapse epically when she's dumped by her boyfriend, Hunter. Now Ellie has to mend her broken heart while watching Hunter fawn all over his new girlfriend, Brynn, in class. To make matters worse, Ellie is partnered with four of the biggest misfit guys in school: Jeremy, the loudmouth with temper issues; Isaiah, the solemn, silent horse racing obsessive; Andrew, who can't take rejection; and Luke, the giant, tattooed stunt biker.

Over the course of a semester, Ellie works to overcome her feelings for Hunter, as well as deeper insecurities that have plagued her since middle school. As the weeks go by, she's surprised to find friendships in unexpected places... and sparks flying with the last guy she'd expect.


March 30th 
She's Too Pretty To Burn by Wendy Heard (Macmillan/Ottaviano)
Macmillan/Ottaviano has bought Wendy Heard's debut YA thriller, She's Too Pretty to Burn. In this gender-swapped Dorian Gray reimagining, a teen photographer's picture of her introverted girlfriend goes viral, sending them into a spiral of fame and danger as they navigate the waters of an underground San Diego art scene. Publication is scheduled for winter 2021.

No comments:

Post a Comment