January 2024 New Releases


 



Release date not known

That's Not My Name by Megan Lally (Sourcebooks Fire)
Annette Pollert-Morgan at Sourcebooks Fire has bought world rights to debut novelist Megan Lally's YA thriller That's Not My Name, told through dual narrators: a teen girl struggling to remember how she ended up battered in the woods with a dangerous man claiming to be her father, and a boy who will stop at nothing to find his missing girlfriend. Publication is planned for January 2024; Mandy Hubbard at Emerald City Literary did the three-book deal.

Red by Annie Cardi (Union Square Kids) - not yet added to Goodreads.
Ardi Alspach at Union Square Kids has bought, in a preempt, YA contemporary novel Red by Annie Cardi (The Chance You Won't Return). Pitched as a nod to The Scarlet Letter in the #MeToo era, for readers of Speak and Grown, Red follows teenager Tess as her very personal decision goes public and, rejected and harassed, she seeks solace in music and uses her voice to end the cycle of abuse in her small town. Publication is planned for January 2024; Laura Crockett at TriadaUS did the deal for world rights

Untitled by Jessie Weaver
(Disney Hyperion)

January 1st

Most Ardently: A Pride and Prejudice Remix (Feiwel and Friends) - title not yet updated on Goodreads.
Emily Settle at Feiwel and Friends has acquired world rights to Gabe Cole Novoa's untitled YA retelling of Pride & Prejudice, featuring the second eldest Bennet as a transgender boy and Darcy as a gay teenager, navigating the oppressively rigid gender norms of the 19th century, as part of the Remixed Classics series. Publication is slated for winter 2024; Louise Fury at the Bent Agency negotiated the deal.


When Haru Was Here by Dustin Thao (Wednesday Books) - moved from 2022, then from December 2023, release date confirmed by publisher but not yet updated on Goodreads.


January 23rd
The Mirror World by Femi Fadugba (HarperTeen) - moved from July 2023.
In THE MIRROR WORLD, we return to Esso and Rhia's epic story as they learn more about The Upper World. Soon they discover they are not the only ones who can wield its power, and there is danger coming at them from past and present...

NOW: With her mentor, Dr. Esso, by her side, eighteen-year-old Rhia is determined to make her mark on the hallowed halls of Oxford University. But the power of the Upper World is becoming an addiction she can't shake. Even worse, she's not alone. Someone else knows the secrets of the Upper World. And he's come to eliminate his newest rival: Rhia.

THEN: In 1990s Benin, Serou believes he's destined to inherit the powers of the Upper World. But instead of being welcomed into his temple as a young adept, he is exiled-only to uncover a conspiracy that has sacrificed dozens of kids like him so one man can stay in power. In his quest for justice, Serou faces a deadly crossroads: a choice that could break the cycle of violence . . . or send him down the same path.

No comments:

Post a Comment