January 2022 New Releases





 

Undated
My Fine Fellow by Jennieke Cohen (HarperTeen)
Kristen Pettit at HarperCollins has acquired My Fine Fellow by Jennieke Cohen (Dangerous Alliance). A gender-flipped Pygmalion, the YA historical novel is set in an alternate London in the 1800s where two young female Culinarians recruit a street vendor to teach him to become a gastronomic star for the upper crust. Publication is scheduled for January 2022; Jennifer Unter at the Unter Agency brokered the deal for world English rights.


January 1st
Fire Becomes Her by Rosiee Thor
(Scholastic)

In Rosiee Thor's lavish fantasy novel with a Jazz Age spark, a politically savvy teen must weigh her desire to climb the social ladder against her heart in a world where magic buys votes.
Flare is power.

With only a drop, one can light the night sky with fireworks . . . or burn a building to the ground. The few flare families on top -- the so-called "elite" -- hoard the magical resource for themselves, and seventeen-year-old Ingrid Ellis wants her fair share.

Ingrid doesn't have a family fortune, monetary or magical, but at least she has a plan: Rise to the top on the arm of Linden Holt, heir to a hefty political legacy and the largest fortune of flare in all of Candesce. Her only obstacle is Linden's father, Senator Walden Holt, who refuses to acknowledge their relationship.

When Senator Holt announces his run for president, however, Ingrid uses the situation to her advantage. She strikes a deal to spy on Gwendolyn Meyers, the Holts's opposition, in exchange for the senator's approval. But the more Ingrid learns about the world around her, the more she questions where her true allegiances lie.

Suddenly, Ingrid finds herself at an impasse: Will she stand with the Holts, who have the power and influence to give Ingrid everything she so desperately desires? Or will she forge her own path with Gwendolyn in hopes of building a better future for everyone?


The Valiant Ladies of Potosi by Melissa Grey (Feiwel and Friends)
Holly West at Feiwel and Friends has bought The Valiant Ladies of Potosi by Melissa Grey (Girl at Midnight and Rated), in which two proper young 17th-century Peruvian ladies trade their skirts for swords and end up as vigilante crime-fighters, while falling for each other along the way. Publication is scheduled for winter 2022; Catherine Drayton at InkWell Management did the deal for world English rights. 

January 4th
The Ivory Key by Akshaya Raman
(HMH)

In this epic YA fantasy debut, magic, a prized resource, is the only thing between peace and war. When magic runs out, four estranged royal siblings must find a new source before their country is swallowed by invading forces. The first in an Indian-inspired duology that’s perfect for fans of There Will Come a Darkness, The Gilded Wolves, and We Hunt the Flame.

January 11th
Unedited by Barry Lyga: Mike and Phil and All the World (Soho Teen)
The companion piece to Mike and Phile and All the World in all its +1,000 page glory.

This is a book. It is written by Barry Lyga. Yes, we know it's a very long book. We tried to get him to cut it, but he wouldn't. So there was nothing we could do about it. We understand if the length turns you off. A long book like this one represents a commitment, and if it isn't good, you'll feel like you've wasted your time and your money. Still, we published it because we think it's a good book. Could it be shorter? Maybe. That's a very difficult call. Each person will have his or her own opinion. Some will read it and think, "It could have been shorter." Others will think, "It was just right." And maybe some people will wish it was longer. Isn't that the highest compliment you can pay a book, to wish it would never end?

Usually, this text here (it's called "flap copy") is sexy marketing-talk, designed to get you to buy the book. Did you know that most people look at the cover, then the back cover, then the flap copy, and only then do they bother even to flip to a page in the book? So you probably haven't even read any part of the book yet, but you might decide to buy or not buy it anyway. Without having read a word of it.

So, we'll just say this: This book is a love story. We hope you'll give it a shot.

No comments:

Post a comment