February 2021 New Releases


Undated
Make Up Break-Up by Sandhya Menon (St Martin's Press) - technically an adult title, but Sandhya has a large YA audience.
42271051An adult romcom featuring an ambitious young Indian-American entrepreneur whose classic matchmaking business goes head to head with an up-and-coming break up app, dubbed "Uber for break ups", helmed by her irritatingly handsome, arrogant rival.














The Secret Blade by Tricia Levenseller (Feiwel and Friends)
The Secret Blade follows a blacksmith with social anxiety who can forge magical blades. When she accidentally builds an all-powerful sword with the ability to extract secrets from those it cuts, she has to protect it at all costs. Publication is set for February 2021.

Down Comes the Night by Allison Saft (Wednesday Books)
Jennie Conway at Wednesday Books has bought, in a two-book deal, Down Comes the Night by debut author Allison Saft, a gothic romance set in a Guillermo del Toro-esque world. The book is about a healer torn between duty and her heart, a soldier broken by his crimes, and the darkness that threatens to consume them. Publication is planned for winter 2021; Claire Friedman and Jessica Mileo at InkWell Management brokered the deal for U.S./Canadian rights.

A Pho Love Story by Loan Le (Simon Pulse)
Jennifer Ung at Simon Pulse has acquired A Pho Love Story by Loan Le, a YA romantic comedy about two Vietnamese-American teens who fall in love and must navigate their newfound relationship amid the whirlwind caused by their respective families' age-old feud about their competing neighboring restaurants. Publication is set for spring 2020; Jim McCarthy at Dystel, Goderich, and Bourret brokered the deal for world rights.

American Betiya by Anuradha D. Rajukar (Knopf)
Katherine Harrison at Knopf has acquired Anuradha D. Rajurkar's SCBWI 2017 Emerging Voices Award-winning contemporary debut novel, American Betiya, a sex-positive story of a teen artist's forbidden, interracial first love, her close-knit Indian family, and her boyfriend's desperate attempts to fit into it--even if that means betrayal. Publication is planned for Feb 2021.

The Problem With Chocolate Chip Ice-Cream by Kwame Ivery (Soho Teen)
Soho Teen has acquired The Problem with Chocolate Chip Ice Cream, a debut YA novel by Kwame Ivery. Set in present-day New Jersey, it follows an interracial teen couple's blossoming romance, which is tested when their older sisters run against each other for student-body president. Race relations come to dominate an increasingly vitriolic campaign. Publication is set for February 2021.

St Rosetta's Academy #2 by Sandhya Menon (Simon Pulse) 

February 2nd 
Sanctuary Highway by Ellen Hopkins (Margaret K. McElderry Books)

37594560No longer the land of the free. But home of a few brave souls.

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Ellen Hopkins comes an edge-of-your-seat novel about two teens struggling to survive in a radicalized, militarized United States.

The United States government, now called the Confederation, has redefined what it means to be “American.” The parameters are narrow; the exceptions few.

In danger and on the run, two teens who fall outside the “correct” Confederation designation must join forces on a thousand mile journey north for safety. But survival means relying on strangers and not everyone is who they appear to be. Who do you turn to when the only person you can trust is yourself, and one wrong whisper can be the difference between freedom and imprisonment, life and death?



Liberte by Gita Trelease (Flatiron Books) 
40953656. sy475 Magic. Betrayal. Sacrifice...Gita Trelease’s Liberté is the transporting, magical sequel to Enchantée, hailed by NPR as a "soaring success"!  


















Bone Crier's Dawn by Kathryn Purdie (Katherine Tegan Books)
50622133. sy475 Official cover and book description coming soon.





















This Golden Flame by Emily Victoria (Inkyard Press)
Flee across the sun-and-shadow islands of Eratia, where runes have the power to unleash monsters…

Seven years ago, Karis was forced to become an acolyte for the Scriptorium, the rune scholars who rule Eratia. For centuries, these Scriptmasters have sought the key to reanimating the country’s fearsome automaton army, and anyone they deem unable to help them achieve their goal is sent away…including Karis’s brother, Matthias.

Then Karis discovers a unique human-sized automaton and unintentionally wakes him up. Intelligent, with a conscience of his own, Alix has no idea why he was created. Or why his father—Eratia’s greatest traitor—once tried to destroy the automatons.

Upon learning Matthias is being held by the Scriptorium’s sinister leader, Alix and Karis set out to rescue him and uncover the truth about Alix’s past. But when Karis is faced with an unthinkable choice, betraying everyone she cares about may be her only desperate chance to save their world.


Muse by Brittany Cavallaro (Katherine Tegan Books)
Set in an alternate history World's Fair Chicago, where America is a monarchy, science is king, and magic shouldn't exist - and one girl's touch has the power to grant wishes.

All the Tides of Fate by Adalyn Grace (Imprint)
 
February 9th 
Curse of the Divine by Kim Smejkal (HMH) 
48947245Return to the world of inklings, tattoo magic, and evil deities as Celia uncovers the secrets of the ink in order to stop Diavala once and for all. This eagerly anticipated sequel to Ink in the Blood is perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Wicked Saints. 















Hot British Boyfriend by Kristy Boyce (HarperTeen)
Catherine Wallace at HarperCollins has acquired Hot British Boyfriend, a debut YA novel by Kristy Boyce. Following a horrifying (and viral) public rejection, Ellie crashes her high school's honors study abroad trip to England to rebuild her reputation and self-confidence. And nothing is more of a confidence booster than a hot British boyfriend, but what if her perfect British boyfriend isn't actually the perfect boy for her? Publication is planned for winter 2021; Tara Gonzalez at Erin Murphy Literary Agency brokered the deal for world English rights. 

February 16th
The Witchlands #4 by Susan Dennard (Tor Teen)   

February 23rd
Some Other Now by Sarah Everett (HMH)
48946811This Is Us for teens, this luminous and heartbreaking contemporary novel follows a girl caught between two brothers as the three of them navigate family, loss, and love over the course of two summers. For fans of Far From the Tree, Emergency Contact, and Nina LaCour.

Before she kissed one of the Cohen boys, seventeen-year-old Jessi Rumfield knew what it was like to have a family—even if, technically, that family didn’t belong to her. She’d spent her childhood in the house next door, challenging Rowan Cohen to tennis matches while his older brother, Luke, studied in the background and Mel watched over the three like the mother Jessi always wished she had.

But then everything changed. It’s been almost a year since Jessi last visited the Cohen house. Rowan is gone. Mel is in remission and Luke hates Jessi for the role she played in breaking his family apart. Now Jessi spends her days at a dead-end summer job avoiding her real mother, who suddenly wants to play a role in Jessi's life after being absent for so long. But when Luke comes home from college, it's hard to ignore the past. And when he asks Jessi to pretend to be his girlfriend for the final months of Mel’s life, Jessi finds herself drawn back into the world of the Cohens. Everything’s changed, but Jessi can’t help wanting to be a Cohen, even if it means playing pretend for one final summer.


Lakesedge by Lyndall Clipstone (Henry Holt) 
50638289. sy475 Tiffany Liao at Henry Holt has acquired, at auction, Lyndall Clipstone's debut YA fantasy Lakesedge, plus an untitled sequel, pitched as a gothic romance in the vein of Wintersong meets Naomi Novik's Uprooted. Violeta Graceling is sent to live at the haunted estate of Rowan Sylvanan, the notorious Monster of Lakesedge, only to be pulled into a romance and a bargain that will have Leta fighting to save the ones she loves—and her soul. Publication of the first book is planned for winter 2021; Jill Grinberg at Jill Grinberg Literary Management negotiated the deal for North American rights.











No comments:

Post a Comment