August 2022 New Releases


Undated

Back After This by April Henry (Ottaviano)
Christy Ottaviano at Macmillan/Ottaviano has acquired world rights to Two Truths and a Lie and Back After This by April Henry. Pitched as Two Can Keep a Secret meets Bad Times at the El Royale, Two Truths and a Lie features a dwindling group of teens stranded at an old hotel. Back After This follows a teen podcaster who tries to use genetic genealogy to solve a cold case and gets more than she bargained for. Publication is set for winter 2022 and summer 2022, respectively; Wendy Schmalz at the Wendy Schmalz Agency negotiated the two-book deal.

August 2nd

Violet Made of Thorns by Gina Chen
(Delcorte)

A darkly romantic, fairytale-inspired fantasy—the first in a duology—for fans of The Cruel Prince and Serpent & Dove.

Violet is a prophet and a liar, influencing the court as Seer with her cleverly phrased—and not always true—divinations. Honesty is for suckers like the oh-so-not-charming Prince Cyrus, who plans to strip her of her title once he's crowned.

After the king asks her to falsely prophesy Cyrus's love story for an upcoming ball, Violet awakens a dreaded curse about the prince's future bride. Her wits may protect her in the ruthless court, but they can't protect her against fate—nor the doomed attraction growing between her and the prince...






Blood and Moonlight by Erin Beaty
(Imprint) - pushed from July 2021, then pushed from December 2021. Some editions dated May 2021.

In this medieval YA fantasy thriller, an orphan with a secret, magical sight gets caught between a mysterious genius and the serial killer he’s hunting.

Rising above the city of Collis is the holy Sanctum. And watching over its spires is Catrin, an orphan girl with unique skills—for she alone can spot the building’s flaws in construction before they turn deadly.

But when Catrin witnesses a murderer escaping the scene of his crime, she’s pulled into the web of a dangerous man who will definitely strike again. Assigned to capture the culprit is the mysterious, brilliant, and enigmatic Simon, whose insights into the mind of a killer are frighteningly accurate.

As the grisly crimes continue, Catrin finds herself caught between murderer and detective while hiding her own secret—a supernatural sight granted by the moon, destined to make her an outcast, and the only thing that might save her and those she loves from becoming the next victims...

August 31st
Wish of the Wicked by Danielle Paige
(Bloomsbury) - originally dated August 2021.

Bestselling author Danielle Paige puts a dark spin on fairy godmothers in a new YA series for fans of Brigid Kemmerer and Maleficent.

For centuries, the enchanted members of the Entente have worked in tandem with the Three Fates—the Present, the Past, and the Future—to maintain destiny across the Thirteen Queendoms. But when Queen Magrit learns of her untimely demise from Hecate, Fate of the Future, Magrit burns Hecate at the stake and decrees death to all Entente in order to live forever.

But some survive, including sixteen-year-old Farrow, who hatches a dangerous plan to seek revenge. Along the way, she finds herself falling for the one person who could ruin everything. With life and love hanging in the balance, she must decide who to trust and what’s most important: living in the past or forging a new future.

Bestselling author Danielle Paige launches a brand-new fairy godmother origin story full of intrigue, magic, and romance.

No comments:

Post a comment