April 2021 New Releases



Undated
Fantastic Worlds: Impossible Places by Various YA Authors (Random House)
We Need Diverse Books™ (WNDB), a grassroots organization dedicated to advocating for and supporting marginalized narratives, will publish its second young adult anthology with Random House Children’s Books, this collection focusing on fantasy and science fiction. Phoebe Yeh, VP/Publisher of Crown Books for Young Readers, acquired world rights to the anthology from Barry Goldblatt of Barry Goldblatt Literary, and the collection will be edited by Dhonielle Clayton, Chief Operations Officer of We Need Diverse Books.

The Nature of Witches by Rachel Griffin (Sourcebooks Fire)
Annie Berger at Sourcebooks Fire has acquired Rachel Griffin's debut YA, The Nature of Witches. Set in a world where witches have long maintained the climate but are now losing control, Clara Densmore, an Everwitch whose magic is tied to all four seasons, is the world's only hope—despite a curse that could cost her everything. Publication is scheduled for spring 2021; Elana Roth Parker at Laura Dail Literary Agency brokered the two-book deal for world English rights.  

April 6th 
Between the Bliss and Me by Lizzy Mason (Soho Teen)  
For fans of Jandy Nelson, Robin Benway, and Kathleen Glasgow, critically acclaimed author Lizzy Mason delivers a richly crafted contemporary YA novel about young romance, mental illness, and the importance of family.

18 year-old Sydney Holman shocks her family by announcing that she’s accepted a large financial gift from her grandparents and has decided to attend NYU. Her decision means she won’t be at home with her Mom and commuting to Rutgers, but instead living in the city; it also means she’ll be close to off-bounds but dreamy Grayson—a guitar prodigy who is going to Julliard in the fall and very much isn’t single.

As a new life awaits her, though, Sydney discovers shocking truths about her father: he wasn’t just a drug addict who left when she was little, he’s schizophrenic, homeless, and living on the streets of New York. And there’s a statistical chance that Sydney herself will prove to be schizophrenic. As Sydney is caught between the pressure to stay close to home and watched over her by her mom, and the temptation to take risks and be free, she finds herself falling for Grayson even as she worries her family history of mental illness might make love a terrible choice for both of them.


The Half Orphan's Handbook by Joan F. Smith (Imprint)
Nicole Otto at Imprint has bought Joan F. Smith's YA debut, The Half Orphan's Handbook, a coming-of-age story about grief, first love, and forgiveness. When a 16-year-old girl loses her father to suicide, her mother enrolls her at a summer grief camp that might just help her learn to trust, and maybe even love, again. Publication is slated for winter 2021; Kerry D'Agostino at Curtis Brown handled the deal for North American rights. 

April 13th 
Macmillan/Imprint has acquired The Backups, a YA graphic novel by Alex de Campi, illustrated by Lara Kane. Jenni, Lauren, and Maggie are three talented teens from a big-city performing arts high school, who get dream summer jobs as backup singers in pop star Nika Nitro's giant tour. When Jenni starts to realize that her crush on Nika's boyfriend and bandmate might be mutual, and that the all-girl indie-metal band that is touring with them might have it in for her, things get complicated. 

April 20th 
THE FOREST OF STOLEN GIRLS is a YA historical mystery about two estranged sisters searching for their missing father, who happens to be the greatest detective in Joseon Korea.

April 27th
Slingshot by Mercedes Helnwein (Wednesday Books)  
Sara Goodman at Wednesday Books has acquired, at auction, visual artist Mercedes Helnwein's YA contemporary debut, Slingshot, set in a Florida boarding school. When Grace accidentally saves the new kid from being beat up, her life changes with the single aim of a slingshot. What follows is a story about two people finding each other and then messing it all up.
 

No comments:

Post a Comment